Pandemic Pantry

Recipes - A Cup of Kathy

Since the advent of COVID-19, I’ve been even more determined to teach old dogs new tricks. In other words, I enjoy refreshing family favorite comfort food recipes after shopping in my pantry, since I’m staying home much more now than before the coronavirus came a-callin’.

Take meatloaf, for instance. I was inspired to give this old fave a new twist when I spied a box of sourdough caramelized onion stuffing mix – bought during a trip to Aldi – in my pantry. The idea of creating a stuffed meatloaf sounded good to me.

“Bon Appetit” indicates “Americans embraced it [meatloaf] with more fondness and fervor than perhaps anyone else, to a point where it’s often mentioned alongside hot dogs and hamburgers as one of the country’s iconic dishes and essential comfort foods. Its narrative in this country includes an early chapter set in colonial times when German immigrants made scrapple, an amalgam of ground pork and cornmeal that established the meat-starch union at the core of most meatloaves.”

For my latest meatloaf iteration, I used:

1 pound ground meat (93% lean ground beef this time)
1 large egg
1 box stuffing mix
1 cup (8 ounces) water

After browning the ground beef and draining and grease, I mixed all four ingredients by hand thoroughly in a large bowl. I spooned the mixture into a non-stick loaf pan and smoothed/evened it before topping with a thick layer of honey BBQ sauce. I baked the meatloaf in a pre-heated oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 45 minutes (your time may vary).

Have you tweaked any recipes after shopping in your pandemic pantry?

Drop me a line and share your dish. I’d love to hear from you.

Let’s connect! Follow A Cup of Kathy on Twitter and Facebook

One thought on “Pandemic Pantry

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.